Tuesday, 16 March 2010

Fullfillment

I've been thinking quite a bit recently about flullfillment. what it is and when i feel it, if ever? As a Christian i've frequently heard phrases such as 'find your fullfillment in God'. Christians have a knack for saying cliche phrases similar to this which we spout off left right and centre. It sometimes makes me mad because it doesn't mean anything, well it doesn't for me. It's just words that we've been told and sound good but dont always take on board. What does it mean to find your fullfillment in God? Well here are some thoughts and experiences i've been having recently that help me to understand this a bit better...



So, Fullfillment, Joy, happiness, Contentment or whatever you call it... every now and then i find myself experiencing it, or atleast I think I do from my understanding of those feelings. I started thinking about what made me feel so good about life and myself in these moments. I was trying to analyse the journey i took of getting to that point.



What im beginning to explore is this idea that when i'm making the most of life it is then that I feel fullfilled. Jesus came to give us life and give it to us in all it's fullness (John 10:10). I've begun to discover that I experience this fullness of life at times when I am truly pursuing a relationship with God, a relationship that is a part of my everyday life which impacts how i view the world, how i interact with people and what decisions i make. By also reading the Bible and actually learning from it, and by desiring to just spend time in quiet with God.



Furthermore there are times when i am not lazy, this particularly relates to my uni work. I dont procrastinate but get things done. I put effort into it with a desire to learn something new (It certainly helps studying things that actually matter to me and will shape me as a person, as opposed to just some random degree for the sake of it).



Also by respecting my body and giving it everything it needs which is for me regular exercise. God cares about every different aspect of our lives Spiritual, Physical, Mental, Relational etc and when i am making the most of the opportunities and gifts i've been given by God then i experience Joy because im doing what God has created me to do and when you do what God has created you to do you are worshiping God.

I am beginning to think that when i am at these points it is then that i am feeling fullfilled and that i am actually living life to its fullest.

thoughts...?

Tuesday, 16 February 2010

Band of Brothers

I haven't blogged for ages so here's a thought for you...

So, I recently just started watching Band of Brothers again (the Series about the US Para troopers and their story in the second world war). Every time I watch it, it blows my mind and general second world war stuff fascinates me. I was thinking about why I love it so much and here are my thoughts...

There is something about the whole story that captures me and I think its particularly to do with the togetherness that those guys experienced as a group. It reminds me of something we talked about at uni and how God is out there in the world and we should look to see him and his characteristics in the contexts we find ourselves in. I think that the unity these guys had where they knew each other better than anyone and loved each other so much that they would die for each other is an amazing thing and i see God in it. I don't know if its a guy thing which makes me long for this band of brothers or camaraderie type thing?

I remember being in new Zealand and how great it was being with a group of guys that you hung out with so much, jumped off bridges, floated down rivers and had adventures every day. We experienced so much and shared 6 months of our lives with each other and it was friggin amazing! Maybe that’s why I like team sports as well like football. It's an amazing thing when everyone is committed to the same thing and on the same page.

On our residential for uni at the start of this year the theme for the week was 'Community' and quote was something like this...

'Community is the by-product of people heading in the same direction together'

This is so true of what I've been thinking about, I think I like community and that feeling you get when your doing something significant and you get to share that with other people...happy days and thanks God for people (you can tell im an extrovert/people person!).

Thanks for reading,

Robbie

Saturday, 24 October 2009

Musical Gems 2

So...

as a follow on from my last blog, I have discovered another gem, thats like 2 in the last fortnight!

I saw Dizzee Rascal live on the Electric Proms and he was insane. Ive been looking forward to it ever since i saw him on Jools Holland with a live band and it was sick. Dizzee was amazing with the band and orchestra, so good! I really hope he releases it as a live CD on Itunes or something its a must have...but for now if you haven't seen it check it out on iplayer...ENJOOOY!!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00nj773/Electric_Proms_2009_Dizzee_Rascal/

Monday, 12 October 2009

Musical Gems

Every now and then, about 2 or 3 times a year, i come across a new band/artist or a new album by an artist i already know that either blows me away or I just really like it for a while and listen lots.

The last time I really got into an artist or album was earlier in the year when i came across 'Two Spot Gobi' and got myself a live album of 'Kool and The Gang'.

But...the last time i was 'blown away' by something was a little longer ago. The main ones i can think of were John Mayers 'Where the Light is' and Alicia Keys 'Unplugged'.

Until now...Thanks to the Ginga Ninga ive just discovered a live unplugged album by Lauryn Hill. She recorded it back in 2002 i think after a time away from music. Their songs about what she's been learning and what she has to say is truly amazing.

I dont know what it is that makes me really get into a certain album at any one time but this Lauryn Hill album is amazing. here's a clip of one of the songs she plays on it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyOhUXsGqak

Enjoy,
Rob

Thursday, 13 August 2009

Disagreeing with the Bible???

So I want to read my Bible more, I think it's a source of light and teaches me good things and helps me understand God and let him speak to me. However, im flippin lazy and so it doesn't happen much...That was until NOW...kind of.
Me and some friends have started reading through different books of the bible, a chapter a day. We keep each other accountable to check we're reading and sometimes talk about what we've read. It's good. P.S. if you want in give us a shout, the more the merrier!

Anyway, the real point of this is i was reading 1 Corinthians 7 the other day where Paul is talking about Marriage. Now don't judge me on what im gunna say because i was in a very cynical mood at the time and could possibly read it again and think what he has to say was amazing. However, on this particular occassion i read what Paul had to say on Marriage and thought...(quote from Parole Officer) 'What the F*** are you on about' and 'Your an Idiot'...as i said i was being very cynical at the time and haven't properley looked back over it yet, and besides thats not the point of this post...

What i am slowly getting round to asking is..... Is it ok to disagree with Paul?

I mean after all he's not God, as Jesus was. I believe that the Bible is the inspired word of God and its from him,. But i also acknowledge that humans have written it so there could be some errors (although im not sure entirely where i stand on this idea!). Jesus commands us to do things, you can't disgaree with that, he's God! However Paul on the other hand, was a man. He was a very gifted and annointed man, but he was still a man. Does that mean i can disagree with some of things he says in his letters? There are plenty of very gifted and annointed spiritual leaders and teachers today but we're allowed to disagree with them/slate them for something they say. So how does that fit in with Paul??

I hope you can tell im kinda having a laugh with this, but serious at the same time. I thought it was an interesting question so would share it with you. Let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading,

Rob

Kolkata, India - REFLECTION

OK,

so I've given you an update on what we did and stuff but i just wanted to share a final reflection on one of the big things that came up out there that ive been thinking about.

Ive been thinking about Mission and stuff and have been comparing my two previous experiences of it (overseas). They were in Fiji as part of my outreach for my DTS with YWAM and also in Kolkata, India more recently.

One thining ive been learning over the past months is that Jesus cares about the whole of someone and every aspect of their lives, not just spiritual. He cares about peoples physical needs such as being clothed properley, eating properley and giving your body the exercise it needs. He also cares about emotional needs, mental needs and spiritual needs etc etc (if there are anymore).
I think sometimes (but not always) as christians we can be too focussed on someones spiritual needs and if they're saved etc. Clearly this is important but i think sometimes we miss the bigger picture.

This sole focus is my experience of the mission work we did in Fiji. (Anything i write here is not a dig at YWAM or claiming that their wrong, its just a personal observation. After all my time with YWAM were the best times of my life). We did alot of house visiting and bible studies at churches telling them that Jesus loved them and encouraging them in their faith etc etc blah blah blah, hoping that they'd come into a relationship with christ. I just feel this is so one dimensial and that Mission as Jesus intended it is so much more than this...

What i saw in Kolkata really captured me in the way they the projects we visited did things. Yes they told people of God's great love for them but that wasn't it...it looked more like this.

"Jesus loves you....
Here, have some medicine"
Here, have some clothes"
Here, have some food" (and a flipping big portion!)
Here, have a clean nappy"
Here, have a rest somewhere safe"
Here, learn to read and write"
Here, be a kid"

Isn't this how it was meant to be? it seems so much more personal to me, so much more Godly and so much more affirming of an indicidual.

It would be great to hear any feedback you have on this, positive or negative.

Thanks for reading, I hope you connect with this...

Rob

Kolkata, India - Part 2

Here's some more...

We did some work with 'FreeSet'. Free Set are an incredible company. They were set up by a couple from NZ 10 years ago and they are based in one of the red light districts of Kolkata. They employ women involved in the sex trade as a way out of that life and currently have 150 women on staff. However it is estimated that there are 10,000 women working in the red light district, there aim is to help as many of them as possible. Freeset make bags and t-shirts which are sold all over the world (they made all the Soul Survivor bags and t-shirts for this year) so you may have come across their products before.
We spent a morning at Freeset having a look around and helped in different areas of the production process. I found it truly inspiring to see what an amazing job they are doing in making a difference in these ladies lives.
FreeSet are also fair trade recognised so if you see any of their products then i definitely recommend them. Here's their website for some more info http://www.freesetglobal.com/

The last project i'll ramble about is Big Life Ministries. They are an evangelistic ministry that go out into Kolkata's surrounding villages, providing medical support, they visit houses and share the gospel and their testimonies. From their ministry they currently have 2000 (i think) house churches/fellowships being run.
We had the privelige of going out with them twice to two seperate villages. This was pretty awesome as we saw house churches planted and locals show real interest in finding out more about Jesus. We even got a chance to play some football with some of the locals which was one of the highlights of the trip!

A couple of other things i must mention were that on one of our days off we went to see a Bollywood movie called 'Love Aaj Jal'. It was a proper chick flick as you'd expect and was in hindi with no english subtitles. This was hilarious cos they would chuck in random english phrases like 'oh my god' or 'dont be silly' every now and then. It was also fun to watch as we'd end up watching a lot of the extras in the background which was highly amusing. Good times!

Also, whilst we were there a popular political figure died. A day of mourning was anounced in Kolkata and all the schools were shut etc. They were having a procession of his body around the city before his funeral and it came right past our front door. The road outside the guest house is a busy one but there were no cars, buses or rickshaws to be seen. Just hundreds and thousands of people. It was pretty exciting! we ended up waiting for about 2 hours before his body passed by. They leave the face uncovered unlike in England so was pretty weird seeing a dead mans face fly past just a few meters away from you. The whole thing was just like something you'd see on the news so it was pretty cool that we were actually there and got to see it live.

One final thing...the roads and driving is insane in Kolkata and India in general, so exciting! There is no etiquette at all, just hink your horn and win it! People cutting each other up all the time, and thats just the way it is, crazy stuff and yet we didnt see one accident! Interesting.
It got me thinking about how a couple of weeks earlier a few of my friends from the states were in England and couldn't believe how "narrow" our country lanes were. Now as an English man i find this pretty mellow, but acknowledged that it would take me a little while to get used to driving in India...and then i thought...How the heck would those silly yanks(hehehe) manage driving out their if their whinging about our country lanes. So, if any of you americnas reading this have been to India, let me know what you thought about the driving out there...Cheers!

Thanks for reading....

Rob